Single and Fabulous, exclamation point

Hi folks! I’m so glad you came! Now we can work together to figure out how to be fabulously alone in this world where people settle for anyone just to say they have someone. Not us!

I started this blog to be a voice for others after a break up, during a long stretch of alone-ness, and for anyone else who is just figuring out themselves before attempting to involve themselves with someone else. About a year and a half ago I went through a pretty bad break up, and it was so hard to continue living life without my better half with me. I will be the first one to admit that it seemed near impossible to move on right after it happened, and I still have bad days where I want to track him down and just plant a big fat kiss on his lips regardless of the consequences, and other days where I vividly imagine keying his car. We’re being honest here, right?

I had split myself up into different types of Gabby’s in an attempt to file away my memories, and to figure out why things happened the way they did. Pre-relationship, during-relationship, and post-relationship. You’re probably thinking “you’re over analyzing probs killed you, huh?” and you’re totally right. I tortured myself endlessly until one day, actually very recently, I realized that I will never understand why he did the things he did and honestly I don’t really need to know. I was obsessed with this idea that if I figured him out, I would figure out why it ended, and then I could magically fix it. Yeah good joke, Gabbs.

Anyways, here I am. Finally accepting, after a year and a half go figure, that I am a damn good catch whether I’m single, with someone on my arm, or in a relationship with my cat. Too far?

So there’s that. This is what we’re here for. We’re here to talk about how to survive dating in this horrific social media world, to remind each other that being single is actually fabulous, and most of all to discover ourselves.

Carrie Bradshaw said it best when she said “single and fabulous, exclamation point”. And yes, I just quoted Sex and the City and you loved it.

Leave a Reply

